Sharing Dance with North Preston

NBS’ relationship with North Preston began in fall 2016. The partnership was originally focused on engaging the community in Sharing Dance Canada 2017, but it quickly became clear that NBS could have an even more significant and lasting impact.
Working closely with LaMeia Reddick, our community consultant, we developed the NBS Sharing Dance: Take the Lead project. Through this project, we are working with a group of young women from North Preston to build confidence and leadership skills through dance, empowering them to lead Sharing Dance initiatives in their community. Our goal is to empower these young women to take leadership roles in their community and to make a positive impact through engagement in the arts. Through a series of mentorship workshops and a youth leadership retreat hosted here at NBS, we hope to build their capacity to act as mentors in the North Preston community for the next generation of young leaders.
During the retreat, the girls had the opportunity to visit cultural and artistic hubs of Toronto, and connect with North Preston community members now residing in Toronto, building important personal and professional networks for the mentees. Engaging and mentoring the youth of North Preston enriches the relationship between Sharing Dance and the North Preston community. We plan to implement ways for the leaders who have been through the program to work with and inspire a new cohort. This provides opportunities to develop increased leadership skills and deepen their commitment to dance in their community.
In the fall of 2016, NBS originally began filming in North Preston as part of the Sharing Dance Canada 2017 project. As the relationship between NBS and North Preston progressed and deepened, however, the opportunity to create a short video that sheds a positive light on the North Preston community through a dance lens became apparent. This video highlights the close partnership we’ve developed with North Preston, and demonstrates the powerful impact dance can make.
We’re grateful that Sharing Dance: Take the Lead is supported by The McCain Foundation, a vibrant philanthropic leader that finds innovative ways to create positive change for the benefit of communities across Canada, particularly those in the Atlantic region.

We Are North Preston

Written by Abena Beloved Green (Amoako-Tuffour), this poem was commissioned by NBS for the NBS Sharing Dance: Take the Lead project.

Dansons Ensemble à North Preston

La relation entre l’ÉNB et North Preston a commencé à se tisser à l’automne 2016. Le partenariat visait tout d’abord à faire participer la collectivité au programme Dansons Ensemble Canada 2017; mais il est rapidement devenu évident que l’ÉNB pourrait avoir une incidence beaucoup plus significative et durable.
 
En étroite collaboration avec LaMeia Reddick, notre consultante communautaire, nous avons conçu le projet Dansons Ensemble de l’ÉNB: Partenaire du programme Montre la Voie. Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous travaillons avec un groupe de jeunes femmes originaires de North Preston afin de renforcer, par la danse, la confiance et les capacités de leadeurship et leur donner ainsi les moyens de gérer les initiatives de Dansons Ensemble dans leur collectivité. Notre objectif est de permettre à ces jeunes femmes de prendre les devants dans leur collectivité et d’avoir une incidence positive en s’investissant dans les arts. Au moyen d’une série d’ateliers de mentorat et d’une retraite axée sur le leadeurship jeunesse organisés ici, à l’ÉNB, nous espérons les aider à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour jouer le rôle de mentor dans leur collectivité de North Preston et former la prochaine génération de jeunes leadeurs.
 
Pendant la retraite, les filles auront l’occasion de visiter les carrefours culturels et artistiques de Toronto et d’entrer en contact avec des membres de la collectivité de North Preston maintenant établis à Toronto pour bâtir d’importants réseaux personnels et professionnels pour les mentorés. Le fait de s’investir auprès des jeunes de North Preston et de leur offrir du mentorat enrichit la relation entre le programme Dansons Ensemble et cette collectivité. Nous prévoyons mettre en œuvre des moyens pour que les leadeurs qui ont pris part au programme puissent travailler avec une nouvelle cohorte de jeunes et les inspirer. Des possibilités leur seront ainsi offertes de renforcer les compétences en leadeurship et de réaffirmer leur engagement par la danse dans leur collectivité.
 
À l’automne 2016, l’ÉNB a commencé à filmer à North Preston dans le cadre du projet Dansons Ensemble Canada 2017. Alors que la relation entre l’ÉNB et la collectivité de North Preston évoluait et s’approfondissait, l’occasion s’est présentée de créer une courte vidéo jetant un éclairage positif sur la collectivité de North Preston en utilisant le prisme de la danse. La vidéo fait ressortir le lien étroit que nous avons établi avec North Preston et témoigne du puissant effet que la danse peut produire.
 

Ici à North Preston

Écrit par Abena Beloved Green (Amoako-Tuffour), ce poème a été commandé par l’ÉNB pour le projet Dansons Ensemble de l’ÉNB: Partenaire du programme Montre la Voie