Instructors lead a group of young dancers.

The full-time Teacher Training Program at Canada’s National Ballet School extends from September to June. As a student of the Teacher Training Program, you will:

  • Benefit from the experience of international faculty who have trained many of the world's great dancers;

  • Work with acclaimed pianists who are experts in music for dance;

  • Learn from specialists in anatomy and conditioning for dance students;

  • Receive individual attention and career placement assistance;

  • Gain practical hands-on teaching experience with both recreational and professional students.

Teacher Training Program 2016-17
Significant Dates and Holidays

NOTE: On Fridays preceding long weekends or breaks, all TTP classes run until normally scheduled finish times.

​Term 1

Date Event
Wed, September 7 Orientation Day
Thurs, September 8 Classes begin
Fri, October 8 - Mon, October 10 Thanksgiving weekend; No AP classes
Mon, October 31 - Thurs, November 3 MAL Workshop; AP assist as usual
Fri, November 4 TTP day off
Sat, October 29 - Sun, November 6 AP assist as usual
Mon, November 7 TTP classes resume
Thurs, November 10 TTP day off
Wed, November 16 TTP day off
Tues, November 22 TTP day off
Fri, December 16 Last day of classes before Christmas break
Sat, December 17 - 
Tues, January 3
Christmas Break

Term 2

Date Event
Wed, January 4 TTP classes resume
Fri, February 18 - Mon, February 20 Family Day weekend - No AP classes
Tues, February 21 - Fri, February 24 Mid-term Study Week; AP assist as usual
Mon, February 27 Regular classes resume
Fri, April 7 TTP classes run until usual finish times
Sat, April 8 - Mon, April 17 Spring break; No AP classes
Tues, April 18 Regular classes resume
Mon, May 8 - Thurs, May 11 Second Stage Auditions
Sat, May 20 - Mon, May 22 Victoria Day long weekend; No AP classes
Mon, June 19 Last day of TTP classes
Tues, June 20 TTP Graduation