First Position Patrons


A unique collective of young patrons united by a passion for supporting young artists and the power of dance

We are Canada’s National Ballet School, but our name only begins to describe what we do.
In fact, we are the world leader in developing the most innovative and wide-ranging programs that harness the transformational power of dance to change people’s lives for the better - from professional programs that train the next generation of ballet dancers and dance teachers for diverse careers around the world, to the NBS Sharing Dance initiative that engages all Canadians in realizing their artistic potential and enjoying better health through movement.

Join NBS’ First Position Patrons with our new monthly giving program and discover opportunities to engage with NBS year-round.


  • NBS’ annual fundraising Gala
  • One unique initiative each year
  • More people of every age and ability accessing the full breadth of NBS’ high-quality dance programs


  • One ticket to the NBS Gala’s Young Patrons Reception (or equivalent fundraising event)
  • Free admission to First Position Patron panels
  • Invitation to NBS donor events
  • Discount on NBS Spring Showcase tickets
  • Access to Spring Showcase donor lounge
  • Tax receipt for the allowable portion of your contribution

*The Gala ticket is not eligible for a tax receipt. You will receive a receipt in the maximum allowable by the CRA for any donation made beyond the value of the Gala ticket.

Pledge your support today!

First Position Patrons Giving Program – Donation Form

First Position Patrons Giving Program – Details

NBS’ First Position Patrons initiative was launched in 2014 and is led by the First Position Patrons Committee (FPP). Together, the FPP lead the charge by developing and hosting FPP events and activities that focus on how Canada’s National Ballet School is influencing the world positively through dance, in both their professional and community programming projects.

2019-2020 First Position Patrons Committee (FPP)

  • Karlee Vukets
  • Shira Tsinman
Vice Chair
  • Raji Aujla
  • Evie Begy
  • Samantha Russell
  • Lisa Conway
  • Anthony Chung
  • Cécile Ferandier-Sicard
  • Emad Ghattas
  • Simon Beck
  • Vasilia Kratsios
  • Gurbani Marwah
  • Kulin Matchhar
  • Linley McConnell
  • Qoratia Parmanand
  • Hailey Vasyliw
  • Rahul Patel
  • Valeria Ramirez
  • Tandis Azarbad

If you are interested in joining the First Position Committee or if you would like to be added to our mailing list, contact:

Today’s young arts supporters. Tomorrow’s philanthropic leaders.


Get Engaged!