Nbs Sharing Dance 2022 Choreography Banner.


Learn the NBS Sharing Dance Choreography!


Each year, Canada’s National Ballet School commissions a Canadian artist to create a piece of choreography that embodies a thoughtful theme. The 2022 NBS Sharing Dance Choreography, created by Starr Muranko and Aïcha Bastien-N’Diaye, brings each of us within, connecting us with the land, our breath and our bodies.
 
The choreography is divided into sections and taught through step-by-step video resources, adapted for all ages. Resources support educators, community programmers for kids, programmers for seniors, dance studios, families, individual dancers and more. 
 
Take me to learn this year's choreography!

Watch this special compilation video of the 2021 NBS Sharing Dance Choreography, featuring dozens of submissions from dancers across Canada. This collaborative video is a true celebration of the power of dance to foster artistic expression, build community, and inspire joy.
 


Learn more about this year's NBS Sharing Dance Choreographers!

Aïcha Bastien-N’Diaye

Dance artist, Creative Content Creator, AfroIndigenous

Aïcha Bastien-N’Diaye is a dance artist from Quebec, hailing from Wendake (Wendat) and of Guinean descent (Jola). Combining tradition and modernity, physicality and expressivity in a wide array of genres, and drawing on a wealth of cultures, practices and aesthetics, Aïcha embodies a vision of the current dance scene, open to the world and to others. Being a content creator has allowed Aïcha to further her mission of bringing people together and affecting change in relation to real diverse representation, art, and accessibility.

Photo by Anne-Marie Desmarais






Starr Muranko

Starr Muranko is a dancer, choreographer and Mother and is the Co-Artistic Director of Raven Spirit Dance based in Vancouver. As a choreographer she is most interested in the stories that we carry within our bodies and Ancestral connections to land that transcend time and space. Her choreographic work has been shared both locally and nationally including presentations at the Dance Centre, Firehall Arts Centre, Talking Stick Festival, Coastal Dance Festival, Dancing on the Edge Festival, Weesageechak Begins to Dance, Impact Festival and InFringing Dance Festival.

Starr has been a proud company dancer with the Dancers of Damelahamid since 2005, touring across Canada and internationally with the company and trained under the guidance and mentorship of the late Elder Margaret Harris. She has facilitated several dance workshops through ArtsStarts in Schools, Vancouver Aboriginal Friendship Centre, the NEC – Native Education College, Vines Art Festival and Matriarch’s Uprising Festival/TSV Working Class.  Recently Starr was invited as a guest choreographer to co-lead an exciting creation lab with Ballet BC and Margaret Grenier.

She is passionate about leaving a meaningful legacy for future generations and has worked with children and youth on community art projects in her Mother’s home territory of James Bay (Treaty 9) in the communities of Attawapiskat and Moose Factory. Starr honours and celebrates her mixed Ancestry of Cree (Moose Cree First Nation), French and German in all of her work. www.ravenspiritdance.com

Nbs Sharing Dance 2022 Choreography Banner.


Chorégraphie Dansons Ensemble de l'ÉNB

Chaque année, l’École nationale de ballet du Canada charge un artiste canadien d’élaborer une chorégraphie qui reflète un thème réfléchi. La chorégraphie Dansons Ensemble avec l’ÉNB de 2022, créée par Aïcha Bastien-N’Diaye et Starr Muranko, vise à nous rapprocher de nous-mêmes, en nous connectant à la terre, à notre respiration et à notre corps.

La chorégraphie est segmentée en petites sections et enseignée au moyen de ressources vidéo incluant des instructions détaillées adaptées aux enfants de 6 à 100 ans et plus. Les ressources viennent appuyer les éducateurs, les responsables de programmes communautaires pour enfants, les responsables de programmes pour personnes âgées, les studios de danse, les familles, les particuliers férus de danse et bien d’autres encore. 


Cliquez pour apprendre la chorégraphie

APPRENEZ-EN PLUS AU SUJET DES CHORÉGRAPHES DE DANSONS ENSEMBLE AVEC L’ÉNB DE CETTE ANNÉE!

Aïcha Bastien-N’Diaye

Aïcha Bastien-N’Diaye est une danseuse québécoise originaire de Wendake (Wendat) et d’origine guinéenne (Jola). Alliant tradition et modernité, présence physique et expressivité dans un large éventail de genres, Aïcha puise dans une richesse de cultures, de pratiques et d’esthétiques, et incarne une vision du paysage de la danse actuelle, ouverte au monde et aux autres. Créer du contenu lui a permis de réaliser la mission qu’elle s’est donnée : rassembler les gens et apporter le changement en lien avec une réelle diversité en matière de représentation, d’art et d’accessibilité.

Photo d’Anne-Marie Desmarais









Starr Muranko

Starr Muranko, danseuse-interprète, chorégraphe et maman, est la codirectrice artistique la troupe de Raven Spirit Dance basée à Vancouver. En tant que chorégraphe, elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux histoires que nous portons dans notre corps et aux liens ancestraux avec la terre qui transcendent le temps et l’espace. Ses œuvres chorégraphiques ont été partagées sur des scènes tant locales que nationales, y compris à l’occasion de représentations aux Dance Centre, Firehall Arts Centre, Talking Stick Festival, Coastal Dance Festival, Dancing on the Edge Festival, Weesageechak Begins to Dance, Impact Festival et InFringing Dance Festival.

Starr est fière d’être une danseuse de troupe, évoluant avec les Dancers of Damelahamid depuis 2005. Elle prend part à des tournées partout au Canada et à l’étranger avec la troupe et a suivi une formation sous la direction et le mentorat de la regrettée aînée Margaret Harris. Elle a animé plusieurs ateliers de danse par l’intermédiaire d’ArtsStarts in Schools, du Vancouver Aboriginal Friendship Centre, du Native Education College, du Vines Art Festival et du Matriarch’s Uprising Festival/TSV Working Class. Récemment, Starr a été invitée en tant que chorégraphe d’honneur à codiriger un laboratoire de création passionnant avec Ballet BC et Margaret Grenier.

Elle a à cœur de laisser un héritage significatif aux générations futures et a travaillé avec des enfants et des jeunes sur des projets d’art communautaire dans le territoire d’origine de sa mère, la baie James (Traité nº 9), dans les collectivités d’Attawapiskat et de Moose Factory. Starr honore et célèbre son ascendance mixte crie (Première Nation de Moose Cree), française et allemande dans l’ensemble de son travail. www.ravenspiritdance.com